Thursday, May 31, 2018

A Cautionary Tale

Sea Witch
Sea Witch
Author: Sarah Henning
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: July 31st, 2018
Ever since her best friend, Anna, drowned, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. A freak. A curse. A witch. 

A girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears offshore and, though the girl denies it, Evie is convinced that her best friend actually survived. That her own magic wasn’t so powerless after all. And, as the two girls catch the eyes—and hearts—of two charming princes, Evie believes that she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But her new friend has secrets of her own. She can’t stay in Havnestad, or on two legs, unless Evie finds a way to help her. Now Evie will do anything to save her friend’s humanity, along with her prince’s heart—harnessing the power of her magic, her ocean, and her love until she discovers, too late, the truth of her bargain. 


I went into this book with incredibly HIGH expectations—so, I only have myself to blame for feeling disappointed.  

At its core, Sea Witch is a fairly good story. The writing flows well, the imagery isn't overly done, and the characters get you invested...all this to say, it simply was not the story I was expecting. Maybe I'm just not accustomed to backstory retellings? But I feel that this book missed its mark.  

I was under the notion that there'd be more nautical, mermaid, and SEA witch scenes. This book is very heavily witch focused but not SEA witch focused, if you get my drift. The tagline is extremely misleading. 

While I didn't mind Evie's narration, she also came across flat to me. Evie doesn't seem to have her own agenda, she thrives off of where and how and what her friends are doing.  I was invested in Evie only because of who I knew she would become, and not because of who she already was.

Evie's best scenes were with her love interest, Iker. (AHOY, he is the best thing about this entire novel and he needs a prequel!)  Evie's friendship with Prince Nik was something I grew fond of but it took a turn for the trope toward the end—which was a bit of a let down 

Overall, I think at it's heart, Sea Witch is a simple cautionary tale about the power and destruction of friendships. With a cute little romance sprinkled in. If you're expecting a dark retelling of Ursula's story, I think you may find yourself disappointed as well. 


Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday: A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
 
Brigid is an auto-read for me! A prince!? A monster?! A curse!? I'm so ready to head to Emberfall!

What are YOU waiting on this week?

Monday, May 28, 2018

Hype Train™

What do you do when the Hype Train misses its destination? Image result for my little pony train gif

Maybe you've squeed to the author or perhaps the publicist—then you finally get a chance to read the book and expectations were NOT met.
  
Now what? 

Assuming you've read allif not most of, the book do you: 

Rate the book on Goodreads? Yes! I personally would.  
Do you review or not review? If it was sent for review—yes. If I picked it up at the library or purchased it, I may choose not to review.  
If it's a series do you pick up the second book? Most likely not. 
Do you kill the hype (whether it's self-hype or social hype) for your friends? YES. I'm awful. 
  
The Hype Train can be such a dangerous thing. Here are a few books that were hyped on social media and just in my own mind that fell flat for me 

Social Media Hype: Rebel of the Sands  
Social Media & Self Hype: Sea Witch 

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands #1)Sea WitchThe Hearts We Sold


Then there are books that either aren't hyped at all or you simply missed the hype parade—yet they deserve ALL THE HYPE! Here are a few for me: 

Exceeded Expectations to Infinity: Alex, Approximately 
Zero Expectations but OMG: Lies You Never Told Me 
Why did I let you sit on myself for 8 months!? : The Disappearances 

Alex, ApproximatelyLies You Never Told MeThe Disappearances

I think it's unavoidable to catch a ride on the Hype Train from time to time. Yet, the feeling of disappointment never fades when it steamrolls off the track.  



What's a book that doesn't match the hype it got? 
What's a book you found yourself surprised by?    


Friday, May 25, 2018

ARC Giveaway: Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton


About the Book:

Heart of Thorns (Heart of Thorns, #1)In the ancient river kingdom, touch is a battlefield, bodies the instruments of war. Seventeen-year-old Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood.

Not women. Demons. The same demons who killed her mother without a single scratch. 

But when Mia's father suddenly announces her marriage to the prince, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Only after the wedding goes disastrously wrong does she discover she has dark, forbidden magic—the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Enter to Win:



Thursday, May 24, 2018

The Less You Know The Better!

Lies You Never Told Me
Lies You Never Told Me
Author: Jennifer Donaldson
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: May 29th, 2018
Gabe and Elyse have never met. But they both have something to hide.

Quiet, shy Elyse can't believe it when she's cast as the lead in her Portland high school's production of Romeo and Juliet. Her best friend, Brynn, is usually the star, and Elyse isn't sure she's up to the task. But when someone at rehearsals starts to catch her eye--someone she knows she absolutely shouldn't be with--she can't help but be pulled into the spotlight. 

Austin native Gabe is contemplating the unthinkable--breaking up with Sasha, his headstrong, popular girlfriend. She's not going to let him slip through her fingers, though, and when rumors start to circulate around school, he knows she has the power to change his life forever. 

Gabe and Elyse both make the mistake of falling for the wrong person, and falling hard. Told in parallel narratives, this twisty, shocking story shows how one bad choice can lead to a spiral of unforeseen consequences that not everyone will survive.
This book, you GUISE. Talk about a crazy, twisty thrill ride 

I ADORED IT!  

I had ZERO knowledge of what this story was actually about when I first started reading. The inner flap was intriguing but didn't necessarily scream, "THIS BOOK WILL BLOW YOUR MIND!"  

The characters, their narration, the plot, and how it all ties together is INSANE. My heart was beating so fast during certain scenes I had to take a break. There were also moments when I wanted to reach through the pages and shake certain characters and strangle others! 

Lies You Never Told Me follows multiple characters and is told through two perspectives. Gabe & Elyse are the two main protagonists and I adored both of their POV's. Their stories are told on completely different timelines though. So, when Gabe's chapter ended I was like, "OMG!? IT JUST GOT CRAZY I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!" And by the end of Elyse's chapter I was anxiously awaiting her next one—"WHAT!? HOW ARE WE ENDING IT THERE! I NEED TO KNOW MORE!!" This book is the epitome of "just one more chapter!"  

Gah! I could go on and on about this book but I feel if I over explain I'll give something away! And honestly, this book is best knowing barely anything at all.  

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! 


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday: The Me I Meant to Be

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.
The Me I Meant to Be
Girl Code: Never date a friend’s ex.

Willa Evans has no intention of breaking the code. So what if she’s always secretly loved her next-door neighbor Zach? As her best friend’s boyfriend, he was always off-limits and it needs to stay that way, even though they just broke up. Even though every time she turns around he’s there, tempting her…

No keeping secrets from your bestie.

Flor Hidalgo has a lot on her plate: her breakup with Zach, her dad’s new dating life, and her struggling grades. So why can’t she stop thinking about her hot, know-it-all tutor? At least she’s got Willa, her constant in the chaos.

Breaking the code breaks friendships.

Two friends find themselves tempted by love that defies the rules in this steamy romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Simone Elkeles.
 
I absolutely adore Sophie's writing so i am SO excited for this one!! Steamy romance? I am so there!

What are YOU waiting on this week!?