Thursday, August 9, 2018

GRACE AND FURY BLOG TOUR: Review + Giveaway!


About the Book:

Grace and FuryTitle: Grace and Fury
Author: Tracey Banghart
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: July 31st, 2018
Where to Buy: Amazon, B&N, TBD
In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison.

Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace - someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir's eye, it's Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding.

Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.
 ~Goodreads

My Review


Grace and Fury is a sweeping fantasy that took me by complete surprise! 

What I was expecting: Glittering ballgowns, royal suitors, elegance galore. 
What I was not expecting: Brutal realties, deep betrayals, GIRL POWER.  

Dual points of view are my absolute favorite so I was delighted to read from both Nomi and Serina’s. Nomi is a take no nonsense type of girl, where Serina is a girl who follows all the rules laid about before her—they could not be more different.  

I enjoyed reading about both of their journeys to the Palazzo, but I did find myself having a favorite. Serina stole my heart. That poor girl.Talk about being thrown completely outside of your element. Serina is a fighter, a survivor, tough as nails. This girl, I can’t even. She is raised to be prim and proper, docile, submissive...and then BAM! She’s thrown onto an island where you need to KILL TO SURVIVE. THIS GIRL. Oh, sweet heavens. If there was an award for "Most Changed” or “Adapts Incredibly—Serina should get it. CHARACTER GROWTH TO THE MAX! (She has every right to be pissed at Nomi.) 

Nomi’s time in the palazzo is a whirlwind; between dress fittings, dance lessons, and worrying about where Serina is, she catches of the eye of not only the Heir but his handsome brother as well. She is so intelligent and so full of spirit. Her heart is absolutely in the right place when it comes to her decisions, yet she makes mistake after mistake and everyone around her suffers for it.  

I adored the familial aspect of this book. Although Nomi and Serina don’t share a ton of page time together, their strong bond is unmistakable—I’d love to see them together more in the next installment. Also, the little dashes of romance throughout the story made my heart flutter—I NEED MORE VAL. PLEASE AND THANK YOU!! 

Grace and Fury is filled with secrets and twists. It’s filled with young women desperate to change their circumstances. It’s filled with love and hope. It’s a book that definitely should not be missed!  


About Tracy

Tracy Banghart grew up in rural Maryland and spent her summers on a remote island in northern Ontario. All of that isolation and lovely scenery gave her the time to read voraciously and the inspiration to write her own stories. Always a bit of a nomad, Tracy now travels the world Army-wife style with her husband, son, cat, and sweet pupper Scrabble. She wrote Grace and Fury while living in Hawaii.
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads 

Giveaway 

3 winners will receive a finished copy of GRACE AND FURY, US Only.

Follow the Tour! 

Week Three:
8/7/2018- Portrait of a Book- Review
8/8/2018- To Be Read- Review
8/9/2018- Brooke- Reports- Review
8/10/2018- Cindy's Love of Books- Review

4 comments:

  1. When I first heard about this book it was being pitched for fans of The Selection and The Winner’s Curse and I didn’t have to hear anymore about it to know that I HAVE to read this book because I know I will love it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is so, so good! Let me know what you think if you end up reading!

      Delete
  2. I've heard mixed things about this book but since it's going to be in Owlcrate I'll probably give it a shot. I do love royalty..

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had only heard good things and it definitely lived up to it! I hope you check it out!

      Delete