Friday, July 20, 2018

Review: The Cruel Prince

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, #1)
The Cruel Prince
Author: Holly Black
Pubisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: January 2nd, 2018
Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

As Jude becomes more deeply embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, she discovers her own capacity for trickery and bloodshed. But as betrayal threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

If you’ve been a follower of Brooke-Reports you may recall seeing a post I did called "What's the Deal with Fae Anyway?" In the post I discuss how the Fae genre just isn't my cup of tea. But, the hype train got me so I decided to give The Cruel Prince a chance—it was the first “Fae” book I've finished in years! 

While I thoroughly enjoyed reading the story, it was definitely a slow, lulling journey. The book doesn’t pick up until about three quarters of the way through. That's when it becomes high-stake, intense and action filled. 

The main character, Jude, is caring, intelligent, and tough as nails. She's stolen away from her home as a child, along with her siblings, and thrown into the land of Faerie. Dudes. I would not survive. All the mind games and tricks, salting my food, wearing protective berries around my neck— it would all be way too much for me. Jude is so bad ass and adapts quickly to any situation she’s thrown in to.  

adored Jude’s family dynamics as well. Madoc her "father" is brutal and layered and I'd love to read more about his backstory. I loved her older sister Vivi as well. The weak point, for me, was Jude's twin sister Taryn. She had ample page time that wasn’t really filled with tremendous excitement 

Now, as for Mr. Prince Cardan—I can't say I've fallen completely in love with him....yet. He is the tortured, bad boy type. Which I’m usually all about, but Cardan may be a little too mean boy for me. Jude starts off HATING him, so, I want to say that Jude's turn around in her feelings towards him felt rather rushed. Then again, love and hate walk a very thin line. And if I’m honest I’ll take a romance between these two!  

Her other "romantic" relationship didn't seem to add to the plot other than word count.  

While the Fae genre still isn't a favorite of mine, I can see what the hype is about. The Cruel Prince was an addictive page turner. I can't wait to check out what happens next in The Wicked King.  

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday: Even If I Fall

   
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.


Even If I Fall
A year ago, Brooke Covington lost everything when her beloved older brother, Jason, confessed to the murder of his best friend, Calvin. Brooke and her family became social pariahs, broken and unable to console one another. Brooke’s only solace remains the ice-skating rink, where she works but no longer lets herself dream about a future skating professionally.

When Brooke encounters Calvin’s younger brother, Heath, on the side of the road and offers him a ride, everything changes. She needs someone to talk to…and so does Heath. No one else understands what it’s like. Her brother, alive but gone; his brother, dead but everywhere. Soon, they’re meeting in secret, despite knowing that both families would be horrified if they found out. In the place of his anger and her guilt, something frighteningly tender begins to develop, drawing them ever closer together.

But when a new secret comes out about the murder, Brooke has to choose whose pain she’s willing to live with—her family’s or Heath’s. Because she can’t heal one without hurting the other.

I saw this on someone's CWW last week and it has been CONSUMING MY THOUGHTS EVER SINCE! I need this one, guys!

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Teaser Tuesday: The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

To participate all you have to do is:

Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!) 
 Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Monty leans over and give a gentle nip at Percy's jaw, then presses a kiss to the same spot. "Oh, he loves it when I'm fithly." {ARC pg. 34}
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings, #2)"He's showing off," Percy assures me. "We never touch each other." "Well, please don't start for my benefit," I reply. {ARC pg. 35}

Um, i am LIVING for these Monty/Percy snippets! Talk about adorbs city to the max! 

Sunday, July 15, 2018

#SBPT Guest Review by Tay: Sawkill Girls

Sawkill Girls
Sawkill Girls
Author: Claire Legrand
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: October 2nd, 2018

Beware of the woods and the dark, dank deep.



He’ll follow you home, and he won’t let you sleep.


Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: the new girl. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: the pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: the queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives, a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires.

Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight… until now.

Tay's Review 

There’s a certain thing that make me fall in love with a book automatically. Books with asexual representation? Fuck yes. Books with strong, amazing, extraordinary girls? Give it to me. Books that have a voice and writing style so gorgeous it lingers in my head for days? Hit me up, what are you waiting for? Claire Legrand’s upcoming novel, Sawkill Girls, fills all these boxes and then overflows with its kickass goodness.
Honestly, Sawkill Girls is one of my top-three favorite reads of 2018 so far. It is a powerful story of girls who fight evil by realizing the strength of their own power and who rewrite the stories of the past while kicking ass.
Sawkill Girls follows the story of Val, Zoey and Marion, three girls on the island of Sawkill Rock who are the only ones able to defeat an evil responsible for the disappearance of young girls from their island. Marion is a newcomer to the island, who is drawn to its mysterious nature. Zoey is the take-no-shit asexual heroine who has incredible inner and outer strength. Val is a girl who has never been able to live her own life, tied to evil and the malicious legacy of her wealthy matriarchal family.
Told from the perspectives of the three girls in an atmospheric style, Sawkill Girls is an action-packed feminist thriller that is not to be missed. Legrand skillfully captures the complex dynamics between girls, from those who hate each other’s guts to girls who grow deep, intricate friendships to girls who love each other’s very souls.
I loved all three girls and their stories so much. I loved Marion’s tale of rising above the grief that has consumed her life to finding her own voice and strength and community, remaking herself into the girl she was meant to be.
I connected so deeply to Zoey’s asexuality and her discussion of it, the ways that she was reluctant to dating someone who wasn’t asexual even if she loved him deeply (no lies, Zoey and Grayson were my favorite part of the book and my only complaint is that there weren’t more of them in the book overall). I can’t say enough about how much the asexual representation meant to me in this book. This book validated some of my fears and inner shame about being asexual, but also led me in the direction of beginning to cope with and overcome that same fear and shame. Seriously, if you’re looking for books with strong ace rep, this is one you NEED to add to your list.
And I connected to Val’s sense of duty to her family and the ways that she felt trapped in her own life, even when that led to her doing incredibly evil things. What’s so great about this book is that Val, Zoey and Marion are all such complex, nuanced characters that there’s so much for readers to connect with in each of them.
Plot-wise, this book was everything I love about an atmospheric thriller. Fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud, Courtney Summer’s novels or Nova Ren Suma’s The Walls Around Us. Legrand’s novel belongs to a class of female-written YA thrillers that are fast-paced and centered on the experiences of girls that come to life off the page with strong writing. Towards the end of Sawkill Girls, there were some scenes that were so tense, so thrilling and horrifying to read that I was literally clenching and starting to wrinkle the pages.

~Tay

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday

   
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.


The Cerulean  (Untitled Duology #1)
Sera Lighthaven has always felt as if she didn’t quite belong among her people, the Cerulean, who live in the City Above the Sky. She is curious about everything—especially the planet that her City is magically tethered to—and can’t stop questioning things. Sera has always longed for the day when the tether will finally break and the Cerulean can move to a new planet.
But when Sera is chosen as the sacrifice to break the tether, she feels betrayed by everything in which she’d been taught to trust. In order to save her City, Sera must end her own life.
But something goes wrong, and Sera survives, ending up on the planet below in a country called Kaolin. Sera has heard tales about the dangerous humans who live here, and she quickly learns that these dangers were not just stories.
Meanwhile, back in the City, all is not what it seems, and the life of every Cerulean may be in danger if Sera is not able to find a way home. ~Harper Collins

THAT COVER IS STUNNING. Oh my goodness, BEAUTIFUL, I SAY! The cover alone has me pining after this book. On top of that synopsis? COUNT ME IN!